the last hurrah…

After falling asleep to the Sound of Music and being woken up a few times from the occasional drunk parading through the house a few octaves louder than necessary, Danielle, Ginny and I all woke up around 8 AM. We had all slept in a full sized bed that was offered to us by Everto’s friend and snuggled up under some sleeping bags we had brought with us. Needless to say, it was quite cramped and we all got to know each other really well that night. Thankfully, Danielle and I had become pro snugglers on our two week road trip through the southern half of the south island in our trusty campervan Doris. If you haven’t heard about Doris, scroll back through the blog to the end of August. That will give you a pretty good glimpse into that adventure.

We woke up relatively slowly and were hoping that everyone else would be up so we didn’t have to wake people up. That wasn’t an issue because Everto was already up. Apparently Amanda woke up early that morning and decided that she was going to go surfing, so we had a bit of time to kill in Dunedin before we could head home. It didn’t take us long to pack up our things and get the car all ready to go for the trip home. We took off towards the Octagon, where the massive post-game party was held last night, figuring that we could find some of the carnage to appreciate after a good night’s sleep in an otherwise comfortable bed. We were also on a mission to find somewhere to eat, since none of us had brought anything for breakfast.

And so, we wandered around Dunedin trying to find a place empty enough on the Sunday morning to feed four tourists on a college budget. We passed a number of cafes that looked fantastic but were either too crowded and had a long wait or they were way out of our budget for food that morning. There were a number of couches on sidewalks and bottles and cans lining the streets everywhere. It was obvious that people had a great time last night. If that wasn’t proof enough, a number of houses still had their doors open and we could see people passed out on couches and chairs in the houses. So yeah, it’s safe to say that it was absolute chaos last night. And I’m glad I got to enjoy it from the comfort of a private room with pizza and a musical.

I never thought we would have ended up at a hold in the wall Chinese place, but we did and it was pretty good. I ordered some chicken chow mein noodles and we enjoyed our brunch on a sidewalk table in the morning sunshine. Prior to eating, we made a quick stop at the local iSite to find some postcards and noticed quite a few men walking around in dresses and high heels. We saw a handful, probably about five or six in total while we were enjoying our breakfast and couldn’t figure out if there was a drag show or if they just lost a bet. But regardless, I must say, they had awesome confidence and rocked the look better than a lot of women could with their natural curves and grace.

Before we knew it, Amanda was back from surfing and we hit the road to make it back for our exams the next day. It was an uneventful drive back with studying galore for everyone except our driver Everto and we made good time on the journey home. Luckily, even with the set back that morning, we were back in Lincoln by about 5:30 PM so that still gave everyone plenty of time to study for their exams that were the next day. And of course, that is when my first one was set to take place. I have three this upcoming week that I needed to prepare for. Beef and Deer Production on Monday, Biochemistry on Wednesday and Social Psychology on Thursday. And then I have a five day break until my last exam, Population Biology, on Wednesday of the following week and then I am off on the last leg of my adventure!

It’s hard to believe that time has gone by their fast. I feel like I just got here and now all the sudden I am taking final exams and am starting to get organized to pack up and leave. Where in the world has the time gone? This was my last official adventure before leaving Lincoln and I must say that it was a good one. The rugby match was fantastic and I spent another awesome weekend in the company of good people. It’s safe to say that my “last hurrah” was a good one! Now the only thing that stands between seeing my mom and my grandma and being done at Lincoln University are four exams and 12 days.

Leave a comment